Diese Webseite wird nicht länger aktualisiert. Für Inhalte und Links wird keine Haftung übernommen. Bitte besuchen Sie die Seite des Nachfolgeclusters ORIGINS.
This website is no longer maintained. We assume no liability for content and links. Please visit the webpage of the successive cluster ORIGINS.


Andrzej Buras is New Member of the BAdW

The Excellence Cluster Universe is happy to announce that Professor Andrzej J. Buras is one of the 12 new members of the Bayerische Akademie der Wissenschaften (BAdW). Andrzej Buras belongs to the world’s leading researchers in the field of applied quantum field theory, dedicating himself to Flavour Physics in particular. As a founding member of the Universe Cluster, Andrzej Buras heads the Research Area C “Origin of Matter”. In 2007, he was honoured with a Carl von Linde Senior Fellowship of the Institute for Advanced Study (IAS), where he leads the group “Fundamental Physics”. Since 1988, he has had a full professorship in Theoretical Physics of Elementary Particles at the TUM physics department.

The BAdW has recently elected six members for the philosophical-historical and the natural sciences branch, respectively. Besides Andrzej Buras, also TUM Professor Johannes Buchner of the chemistry department was invited to join the academy. New members are chosen due to their scientific achievements and cannot apply themselves. Founded in 1759, the BAdW today manages a budget of 32 million Euros and is the largest of 8 science academies in Germany. Including the newly elected members, the BaDW now has 172 full members and 156 associated members, 32 of them being TUM professors.

Technische Universitaet Muenchen
Exzellenzcluster Universe

Boltzmannstr. 2
D-85748 Garching

Tel. + 49 89 35831 - 7100
Fax + 49 89 3299 - 4002